

ALBERTA ORIENTEERING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2023

April 13th, 2023, 7:00 pm by video conference

MINUTES

Full Name	Club	I am a voting member, 18 years old or older	I am holding a proxy (please add the name(s) you are representing for the proxy vote).	
Kim Kasperski	EOOC	Yes	Mary - Lou Hogg	Robert Gilchrist
Geraint Edmunds	EOOC	Yes		
Tim McLaren	FWOC	Yes		
Karin Gerritsen	FWOC	Yes		
Marilyn Edmunds	EOOC	Yes		
Don Riddle	EOOC	Yes		
Beth Cornish	EOOC	Yes		
Kitty Jones	FWOC	Yes		
Andrew McLaren	FWOC	Yes		
Jane Rowlands	FWOC	Yes	Christin Lundgren	Lennart Lundgren
Don Bayly	FWOC	Yes		
Wayne Best	EOOC	Yes		
David Campden	FWOC	Yes	Michael Campden	
Marsha Fehr	FWOC	Yes	Isaac Sherwood	
Clarence Kort	FWOC	Yes		
Gabrielle Savard	FWOC	Yes		
Bogi Gyorfi	FWOC	no		
Stefan Duret	EOOC	yes		
Teresa Winn	FWOC	Yes		
Dorothy Penner	EOOC	Yes		



Total Representation: 20 AOA Members and 6 proxies: 26 members in total

AOA Board Members:

Kim Kasperski - President

Wayne Best - Treasurer

Clarence Kort - Secretary

Marsha Fehr - VP Technical

Jane Rowlands - Member at Large

Dorothy Penner - Member at Large

David Campden- Past president

- 1. Call to order: The AOA AGM was called to order at 1905 PM, by Kim Kasperski, AOA President.
- 2. Review of voting procedures
 - Establishment of voting quorum (requires 5% of the Full Voting Membership - Bylaw 4.1.4) (215 Members in April 13th, thus 12 members required for quorum)
- 3. Approval of the 2023 Alberta Orienteering Association (AOA) annual general meeting (AGM) agenda.

Motion: That the agenda of the 2023 Alberta Orienteering Association AGM be accepted:

Moved By: Marsha Fehr, Seconded By: Beth Cornish

Carried. No Abstentions.



4. Approval of the 2022 AOA AGM minutes.

Motion: That the minutes of the 2022 Alberta Orienteering Association AGM be accepted:

Moved By: David Campden, Seconded By: Jane Rowlands Carried. No Abstentions.

- Business arising from the 2022 AOA AGM minutes (AGLC special audit) (this will be covered in the President's Report)
- 5. AOA annual reports for 2022:

All reports can be found on our website: here

 AOA President: Kim Kasperski special report by Kitty Jones re K-Country access

• AOA Executive Director: Bogi Gyorfi

AOA Treasurer: Wayne Best

6. Approval of the 2022 AOA reports and financial statements.

Motion: That the Audited Financial Statements be accepted as presented:

Moved By Marsha Fehr, seconded by Geraint Edmunds, Carried, No Abstentions.

Motion: That the reports of the Executive Director, President and Treasurer be accepted as presented, and that the Treasurer's Report to be amended to note that the next AOA Casino will be in 2024, not 2023.

Moved By: Stefan Duret, Seconded By: Kitty Jones. Carried. No Abstentions.

- 7. Club reports: FWOC and EOOC both provided an annual review.
- 8. Appointment of auditors for the 2023 fiscal year:

(Optimally, one AOA member from each of FWOC and EOOC, for a 3 hour Zoom session in April of 2024).

Karin Gerritsen expressed interest, and then Stefan Duret volunteered



- 9. New Business
 - None
- 10. Nomination of the AOA board of directors. (see below list)

Motion: To appoint the 2023/2024 Alberta Orienteering Association Board Members, as presented.

NB: Wayne Best is looking to be replaced as Treasurer, so this urgent issue will need to be addressed again.

David Campden has indicated interest in being the Mapping Director.

Moved By: Geraint Edmunds, Seconded by Beth Cornish, Carried, no abstentions.



Nomination for AOA Board 2023/24

AOA Board role	Proposed	Status	Nominations
President	Kim Kasperski	Third year	Will stay
Treasurer	Wayne Best	temporary	Vacant
Secretary	Clarence Kort	Second year, Second term	Will stay
Technical Director	Marsha Fehr	First year, Second term	Will stay
Past President	David Campden	Third year	De facto
Member-at-Large	Jane Rowlands	Third year	Will stay
Member-at-Large	Dorothy Penner	Second year	Will stay
Mapping Director	David Campden	First year	Nominated
Skills & Dev. Director			Vacant

- 11. Volunteer appreciation: will be held in Red Deer in the fall.
- 12. Adjournment: Moved by Marsha Fehr, that this AGM be adjourned.

Draw Prize Announcement:

Teresa Winn wins the Special Towel

Tim McLaren wins the Special Headlamp

